As with any community on Prince Edward Island, Augustine Cove has a rich history. The following information has been retrieved from the Centennial History Project, written by the Augustine Cove Women’s Institute.
Augustine Cove is situated on the Northumberland Strait on the south side of Prince Edward Island. Its shoreline of approximately six miles stretches from Cape Traverse on the west, to Tryon on the east.
The distance inland from the shoreline to the northern boundary is about three miles. The district is named after Major-General Augustin Prevost whom, it is thought, visited here around 1760.
There are three coves on the shoreline of this area, and according to Meachem’s Atlas of 1880, one was named Prevost or Provost Cove, and another Augustine Cove. The third cove was Cumberland, but research has shown that since the visit of Augustin Prevost, the district has since been known as Augustine Cove.
There were settlements by the French at Cape Traverse and Tryon, but it is believed that Augustine Cove was not settled until after 1760. The island was surveyed between 1764-66. Lot 28, which contains Augustine Cove, was awarded to Captain Samuel Holland. Some clearing was taking place in the area at that time, but the first authentic information on settlers was from the early 1800’s. By 1804 six families were known to have settled in Augustine Cove.